Ford Econoline E Series The full size van is alive and well at FMC, with the heart of the F series trucks in both cargo vans and passenger vans.

5.8 i poor performance and high fuel consumption

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2021, 02:55 AM
Default 5.8 i poor performance and high fuel consumption

Hi Gang,
I've had my 1988 e150 for near on 10 years now but in the last few years It seems to be down on power, high fuel consumption. Also maybe a high idle. I'm not a mechanic but I have given it a minor tune, plugs etc.
My question to you all is can I get a scan tool to see what is going on with my van or any tips on getting the above sorted.
Any help would be gratefully appreciated on where to start.
Cheers
Wayne

Old 12-07-2021, 05:15 AM

I have had a few do this with a malfunctioning MAP sensor.

Old 12-25-2021, 04:53 PM

sorry @hanky for the late reply, but thank you for your response. Cheers and hope you had a merry Christmas

Old 12-25-2021, 05:23 PM

There is a Santa Claus !

Thexton Mfg makes a sweet little tool costs under $24.00 that will help you diagnose your Ford vehicle. Tool part # 378

I just searched for it again,
You might try ,Tool source.com
phone : 1-888-220-8350
It comes with directions and if you decide to obtain one, I would be more than happy to offer some assistance on what you can get done with it.
Your vehicle has programmed in it's computer many things a lot of folks don't even know are there and this tool will help you determine what is malfunctioning and will do Dynamic testing . (You do 1 or two steps and it will automatically do running tests and tell you what is malfunctioning. You will love it)
I try to be available on this forum to offer what little assistance I can. Let me know when you get it , OK?

Old 12-26-2021, 03:21 PM

Wow thank you Hanky, I'm in New Zealand, it may take a little while to get here. Where does it plug into? Will keep you posted on when it arrives, Cheers

Old 12-26-2021, 06:02 PM