Ford Econoline E Series The full size van is alive and well at FMC, with the heart of the F series trucks in both cargo vans and passenger vans.

91 e350, 351w, efi - won't start.

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2012, 09:24 PM
Default 91 e350, 351w, efi - won't start.

Have strong fire. Fuel 40 psi at rail. Emptied tank and added 10 gal fresh fuel and seafoam. Pops off with starting fluid. Will not even try to pop off without. Suspected ignition module was not communicating with the ecm for injector pulse so changed the module. No change. Tested pulse to injector with borrowed injector pulse tester for Dodge. Very weak light pulse but because I've never used an injector tester before I can't really say what the results mean.

Forgot to add that the fuel pump runs the entire time the key is on. It does not pump up and shut down as I thought it should.

Last edited by clman; 10-23-2012 at 12:17 PM.
Old 10-23-2012, 05:50 PM

Among the reasons the pump might run all the time are , fuel pump relay sticking, or staying energized because ECA is keeping it's pick circuit always grounded(completed).
Either the ECA has a problem or there is a short to ground between the fuel pump relay
and the ECA (computer)

Old 10-24-2012, 12:11 AM

Does it sound like the two are related? The no start ( non firing ? injectors ) and fuel pump runing constantly?

Old 10-24-2012, 03:45 AM