Ford Econoline E Series The full size van is alive and well at FMC, with the heart of the F series trucks in both cargo vans and passenger vans.

Low voltage at headlights

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2024, 03:14 PM
Default Low voltage at headlights

SOLVED: I borrowed a scope and found that my issue was that the wires to the low beams are PDC (Pulsed DC) and that's why I was getting a reading of 10.4v on my volt meter with the engine running. Tested it with a test voltage regulator and no more voltage drop at the headlight low beam.

Hello,
Newbie here needing some electrical advice/help.

I have a 2009 E250 5.4L Extended body. My problem is that I have low voltage at the headlights, BUT only when the engine is running.
The van has a high output alternator with 4 batteries and it runs fine at 14.7v with all OEM accessories on. So I know it is not the alternator.

I invested in some LED lights to increase my night time driving visibility. Simple plug and play with a separate power wire for the DRL. Installed and all working great, except the low beams came on when I took it out of park. So I went in to the BCM (body control module) using Forscan to disable the OEM DRL. No more low beams when out of park except when I turn on the lights. So far all good.