General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Holley carburetor problem

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2007, 06:51 PM
Default Holley carburetor problem

Hi everyone, This is my first time posting on fordforum. I've have a 1963 f-100 that i've tinkered with for about 2 years cuz i don't really have the money or time to do much with it. It used to have a 351 cleveland in it but i didn't want to spend the money to have it totally rebuilt. It had cracked heads and i didn't even want to get into the rest of it. So i bought atruck with a390 for a couple hundred that worked and swapped it out because i like the body style of the '63. The 390 was originally hooked up to a 3 on the tree transmission but when i swapped it i hooked it up to an automatic c-6. So there's a bit of history for ya'll. My problem is the 4brl Holley carburetor thats on the 390. Like i said it worked fine before but when i changed transmissions and put the engine in the '63 it started to act up. It wouldn't idle right. So my dad, who has helped me through all the previous work because heused to work on his 76 high boy all the time when he was my age, suggested i go ahead and rebuild the carburetor. So I did. It's model number is 4160. I got a rebuild kit that works for either the 4150 or 4160 from my local carquest. During the rebuild i matched all the gaskets and parts up to make sure they were the same before re-assembling it. Everything matched up the same and I re-assembled it just the same as it came apart. It's been cleaned with carburetor cleaner and blown out by an air chuck with our air-compressor. I've gone over it twice now and i'm having problems with it running too rich. It's flooding itself to the point were gas comes out the top like it's totally bypassing the float or the float is stuck open. I've researched it and put all the adjustments on the carb to standard. Does anyone have an idea other than the float or does is sound like i