New Member Area New to Ford Forum? Stop in tell us about you.

Newbie with '64 Marauder for sale

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2013, 07:44 PM
Thumbs up Newbie with '64 Marauder for sale

Hi folks:

I'm a newbie to this forum. I was referred here by Mike Allore (Tweed, Ontario Cda - cool guy - a purist when it comes to classics/antiques)

Anyway ... I have a 1964 Mercury Monterey Marauder in almost "mint" condition I want to sell (long story ).

I say "almost Mint" 'cause it's not a long shot from showroom condition but is a close as it can get for having 52,000 original miles on it and needing some minor repair work to compensate for less than normal "wear and tear" ...

- AND -

... aside from a paint job it doesn't look like it has EVER been touched with a restorer's brush ( - if you catch my drift).

FWIW the vehicle is originally from Texas (Austin) and has only been in Canada since 2004/2005. It is now certified and plated (in the Province of Ontario) and I'm driving it as my principal vehicle.

The frame and body metal appear to be totally sound - no bondo that wasn't put on in the factory - some minor superficial rust/deterioration & I lost a small piece of the chrome trim.

The 390cu engine purrs like a {expletive} kitten but I'm too chicken ??? to find where the top end is.

I can tell you that it'll "chirp" in 1st & 2nd & there is absolutely no power loss (throughout the gear range) @ highway or city speeds.

Mike & I pushed it to 90mph today ... the car "floats like a butterfly" ... but it could have been a fine upto $10,000; many months suspension; & confiscation of the vehicle around here ... hence "stings like a (hive of africanized) bee(s)" ... which neither of us can afford right now .... damn where are the good old days??

Rumour has it that the car was built for the (then) Mayor of Austin Texas with 4 doors, "3 on the tree", factory air (working on fixing that), PS/PB and the famous "push button radio" that was "ultimate technology" way back then.